2017 Rattle Poetry Prize Winners

We’re pleased to announce the following $10,000 Rattle Poetry Prize winner:

Rayon Lennon

Rayon Lennon
New Haven, CT

Rattle Logo


Note: After subscriber vote, Jimmy Pappas was selected as winner of the Readers’ Choice Award. For more information and the full results, click here.

Love Refrains
Barbara Lydecker Crane
Somerville, MA

Girl Like
Kayla Czaga
Vancouver, BC

When You Are the Brownest White Girl
Emari DiGiorgio
Ventnor City, NJ

How Tiresome
Rhina P. Espaillat
Newburyport, MA

Troy Jollimore
Chico, CA

I Like Her
Nancy Kangas
Columbus, OH

Two Weeks with Pay
Ron Koertge
Pasadena, CA

Bobby’s Story
Jimmy Pappas
Chichester, NH

“Pain Is Weakness Leaving the Body”
Kirk Schlueter
Edwardsville, IL

The Beautiful Particulars
Alison Townsend
Stoughton, WI

These eleven poems were published in the Winter issue of Rattle that December. Each of the Finalists were also eligible for the $2,000 Readers’ Choice Award, selected by entrant and subscriber vote.

Another seven poems were selected for standard publication, and offered a space in the open section of a future issue. These poets will be notified individually about details, but they are: Scott Beal, Megan Falley, Dave Harris, Nicole Homer, Nancy Kangas, Laura Read, and Daniel Tompkins.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the competition, which would not have been a success without your diverse and inspiring poems. We received a record 4,184 entries and well over 15,000 poems, and it was an honor to read each of them.