2016 Rattle Poetry Prize Winners

We’re pleased to announce the following $10,000 Rattle Poetry Prize winner:

Julie Price Pinkerton

Julie Price Pinkerton
Champaign, IL



“The Nurse Lifts the Clipboard & Replaces All Your Vital Signs”
Noah Baldino
Lafayette, IN

“Poem Written in the Sixth Month of My Wife’s Illness”
Ellen Bass
Santa Cruz, CA

C. Wade Bentley
Salt Lake City, UT

“The Sharpened Shears He Plied”
Rhina P. Espaillat
Newburyport, MA

“Upon Receiving My Inheritance”
William Fargason
Tallahassee, FL

“Superposition of States”
Ingrid Jendrzejewski
Vincennes, IN

“This Living Hand”
David Kirby
Tallahassee, FL

“Thanksgiving in the Anthropocene”
Craig Santos Perez
Honolulu, HI

“The Visit”
Emily Ransdell
Camas, WA

“How to Be Taken”
Patrick Rosal
Camden, NJ

These eleven poems will be published in the Winter issue of Rattle this December. Each of the Finalists are also eligible for the $2,000 Readers’ Choice Award, to be selected by entrant and subscriber vote (the voting period is December 1, 2016 – February 15, 2017).

Another six poems were selected for standard publication, and offered a space in the open section of a future issue. These poets will be notified individually about details, but they are: Lillian-Yvonne Bertram, Leila Chatti, Chera Hammons, Liv Lansdale, Christine Potter, and Wendy Videlock.

Thank you to everyone who participated in the competition, which would not have been a success without your diverse and inspiring poems. We received a record 4,135 entries and well over 15,000 poems, and it was an honor to read each of them.