The Rattle Reading Series

Every second Sunday Rattle presents a reading featuring poets from the current issue at the Flintridge Bookstore & Coffeehouse. Admission is free. Scheduled poets are subject to change.

Flintridge Bookstore & Coffee House

Flintridge Bookstore & Coffeehouse
1010 Foothill Blvd.
La Cañada-Flintridge, CA 91011 (map)



Sunday, January 14th, 5pm

Wendy Barker, Ron Koertge & Lisa C. Krueger
(Download: Flyer)

Wendy BarkerWendy Barker’s sixth collection of poetry, One Blackbird at a Time, received the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry (BkMk Press, 2015). Her fourth chapbook is From the Moon, Earth is Blue (Wings Press, 2015). Her poems have appeared in numerous journals and anthologies including Nimrod, New Letters, and Poetry, as well as Best American Poetry 2013. A recipient of NEA and Rockefeller fellowships, Barker is the Pearl LeWinn Professor of Creative Writing and Poet-in-Residence at the University of Texas at San Antonio, where she has taught since 1982. Her poem “Stuff” appears in Rattle #58. (website)

Ron KoertgeRon Koertge is the author of many celebrated novels, including Stoner & Spaz, Strays, and The Brimstone Journals, all American Library Association Best Books for Young Adults; Shakespeare Bats Cleanup, an American Library Association Top Ten Sports Books for Youth Selection; and The Arizona Kid, an American Library Association pick for “one of the ten funniest books of the year.” A two-time winner of the PEN Literary Award for Children’s Literature, Ron lives in South Pasadena, California. His poem “Two Weeks with Pay” was a finalist for the 2017 Rattle Poetry Prize and appears in issue #58. (website)

Lisa C. KruegerLisa C. Krueger is a poet and clinical psychologist. She is the author of four books of poetry, Rebloom, Animals the Size of Dreams, Talisman, and her latest collection, Run Away to the Yard, all from Red Hen Press. Her poems have appeared in numerous journals, including Atlanta Review, Ploughshares, and Prairie Schooner. She has written a series of interactive journals related to psychology and creativity. She maintains a private therapy practice focused on women’s issues, health psychology, writing therapy, and the role of creativity in wellness. She lives in Pasadena, California. (website)



Sunday, February 11th, 5pm

Brendan Constantine & Rayon Lennon
(Download: Flyer)

Brendan ConstantineBrendan Constantine was born in Los Angeles, the second child of two working actors. His first collection, Letters To Guns, was released in 2009 from Red Hen Press. His other recent collections are Birthday Girl With Possum (Write Bloody Publishing, 2011) and Calamity Joe (Red Hen Press, 2012). A popular performer, Brendan tours regularly, bringing his poetry and workshops to theaters, schools, libraries, correctional facilities, and community centers across the nation. In addition to his post as poet in residence at the Windward School, Brendan regularly volunteers with organizations like the Art of Elysium. Constantine’s fourth collection, Dementia, My Darling, was published in the spring of 2016. His poem “Harping” appears in Rattle #58. (website)

Rayon LennonRayon Lennon was born in Jamaica and immigrated to New Haven County, Connecticut, at age 13. He holds a BA in English from Southern Connecticut State University and a master’s degree in Social Work from Southern Connecticut State University. He works as an adolescent clinical therapist, treating teenagers struggling with substance use and mental health challenges. His work has been published widely in various literary magazines, including Main Street Rag, StepAway Magazine, Folio, African American Review, Connecticut Review, Callaloo and others His first book of poems, Barrel Children, is a finalist for the 2017 Connecticut Book Award for best book of poetry. Lennon’s poem “Heard” won the 2017 Rattle Poetry Prize and appears in issue #58. (twitter)